© 2019 by GEC

Volunteer Voucher Program


To reward those members who regularly volunteer their time to help run our major events (and to encourage other less frequent volunteers), GEC are running a volunteer voucher program commencing February 2019. Each event will have a specific number of $10 vouchers available and these will be distributed to volunteers at the event organiser’s discretion. Members who help more will earn more vouchers.  Relatives and friends can earn vouchers on behalf of a member, but vouchers are not transferable between members. Vouchers will be emailed out to members within a few days of the event (keep the email somewhere safe!) and we will also keep a record of members’ voucher accounts. 

Vouchers can be redeemed as part payment for entries to events (Nominate will have a voucher discount facility), training days and clinics or for GEC merchandise (but not for canteen purchases) and must be used within 12 months of their issue date. 

Any questions? Ask the Membership Officer, Emma Heath 0412 161 000.

EA Headgear Rules


Equestrian Australia (EA) introduced a new rule about headgear that came into effect on 1 January 2017. From now on, if you compete in an Equestrian Australia sanctioned competition like those run at GEC, your helmet must conform with the new rule, detailed below.


If your helmet is approved to EN1384 (the old standard no longer approved by EA) BUT ALSO approved under another standard (PAS015, ASTM F1163, VG1, etc.) then it is good to go. Otherwise, you will need to purchase a new helmet that complies with the safety standards listed below. It is the riders primary responsibility to comply with the new rules. The tag on the inside of your helmet will state the safety standard your helmet is rated for. If you are involved in an accident wearing a non-compliant helmet, your member insurance may not cover you.

EA General Regulations, Article 122.2: Dress and Salute, the following will apply:

Protective headgear must conform with one of the current approved safety standards:

  • Current Australian standard AS/NZ 3838 (2006 onwards) provided they are SAI global marked.

  • New Australian standard ARB HS 2012 provided they are SAI global marked

  • Current American standards ASTM FII63 (2004a or 04a onwards) provided they are SEI marked, or SNELL E2001.

  • Current British standard PAS 015 (1998 or 2011) provided they are BSI Kitemarked.

  • Interim European Standard VGI (01.040: 2014-12) with or without BSI Kitemark.

Our Constitution
Our Code of Conduct
Concussion Protocol